# GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Friday, 2 December 2011.

PRESENT: Mr D L Brazier (Chairman), Ms S J Carey, Mr D S Daley, Mr R J Parry and Mr R Tolputt

OFFICERS: Mrs L Lissimore (Acting Governor Services Manager), Ms T Gimber (School Governance Officer) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

# UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

### 16. Minutes - 7 October 2011

(Item A3)

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 7 October 2011 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

### 17. Officer Delegations

(Item A4)

(1) The Chairman agreed to write to the Chairman of Selection and Member Services Committee, giving the Panel's view that seeking the views of the three Group Leaders before making an appointment or removal is likely to lead to unnecessary delay in implementing an Urgent decision.

(2) RESOLVED to note that :-

- (a) the Corporate Director of Education, Learning and Skills has been given delegated authority (in consultation with the Chairman of the Governor Appointments Panel and the three Group Leaders or their representatives) to appoint and remove LEA Governors in urgent cases; and
- (b) the Chairman of the Panel will write to the Chairman of Selection and Member Services Committee on the matter set out in (1) above.

# **18.** LEA Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent *(Item B1)*

(1) Mr R J Parry informed the Panel that one of the candidates for the Governing Body at Temple Hill Community Primary School had been a head teacher at a school where his wife had also taught. As this was not a "close association" he was able to approach the matter with a fresh mind. (2) The decided to appoint Mr A Sandhu and Mr J Studley to the Governing Body of Temple Hill School because they were both experienced Governors. The former was a Member of the County Council and the latter was the Chairman of the Interim Executive Board. It was noted that there was also a Community Governor vacancy, which might also be filled by a suitably experienced candidate.

(3) The Panel noted that there the nominees for the interim governing body of the proposed Federation of Shepherdswell CE and Eythorne and Elvington Community Primary Schools met all the Authority guidelines for appointment. The reason these nominees had been placed on the "Issues Paper" (and appointed by the Panel) was purely due to the fact that it was a proposed Federation. The Panel agreed that all such nominations should continue to be reported in this manner.

(4) The Panel agreed to reappoint Mr Paul Hannan to the Governing Body of Hadlow Primary School because of the content of the strong supporting statement from the Chair of Governors.

(5) The Panel noted the reasons that Mrs Yvonne Hunter and Mr Anthony Moffat had been appointed to the Additional Governor Pool, to be assigned to the Governing Body of Dover Road Community Primary School by the Corporate Director of Education, Libraries and Skills in consultation with the Chairman. The Panel agreed to ratify these appointments.

(6) RESOLVED that the appointments of Authority Governors in Primary, Secondary, Special Schools, Pupil Referral Units, the pool of Additional Governors and the nominations to non-Authority Academies be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.

#### APPENDIX (Paragraph 18 of the Minutes refers)

# 1. ASHFORD

#### School

High Halden CE Primary School Kingsnorth CE Primary School Phoenix Community Primary School Smeeth Community Primary School St Simon of England RC Primary School The John Wesley School

# 2. CANTERBURY

#### School

Adisham CE Primary School Blean Primary School Hampton Primary School Hampton Primary School Petham Primary School Reculver CE Primary School The Orchard School

# 3. DARTFORD

# School

Swan Valley Community School Temple Hill Community Primary School Temple Hill Community Primary School

# 4. DOVER

**School** Langdon Primary School

# 5. GRAVESHAM

#### School

Culverstone Green Primary School Northfleet Technology College Shears Green Junior School St Botolph's CE (VA) Primary School Whitehill Primary School

# 6. MAIDSTONE

# School

Molehill Copse Primary School West Borough Primary School West Borough Primary School

### Appointee

Mr A Pickering Mrs A Hicks Mr A Oliver Mr T Dolding Mrs J Hardy Mrs J Emmott

### Appointee

Prof. D Bradshaw Mrs G Sinclair Mr L Adams Mr D Cheetham Mrs S Shaw Mr G Thorburn Mr M Everett

#### Appointee

Mr D Mote Mr A Sandhu Mr J Studley

*Appointee* Rev. J Broughton

# Appointee

Mr D Powell Mr S Meggs Mr G Handley Mrs R Unegbu Mr K Black

# Appointee

Miss S Ford Mr P Noakes Mrs K Cleggett

# 7. SEVENOAKS

# School

Hextable School The Anthony Roper Primary School Valence School Valence School

# 8. SHEPWAY

#### School

Dymchurch Primary School Folkestone St Peter's CE Primary School Hythe Bay CE Primary School Pent Valley Technology College

### 9. SWALE

#### School

The Sheerness West Federation Bredgar CE Primary School Bysing Wood Primary School Minterne Junior School Murston Infant school The Oaks Community Infant School The Oaks Community Infant school

#### 10. THANET

#### School

Laleham Gap School Newington Community Primary School Salmestone Primary School

# 11. TONBRIDGE AND MALLING

#### School

Aylesford Primary School Hadlow School Ightham Primary School Shipbourne School St Mark's CE Primary School, Eccles Woodlands Junior School

# 12. TUNBRIDGE WELLS

**School** Broadwater Primary School Broomhill Bank School Pembury School

#### Appointee

Mr T Burrow Mrs E Wherwell Mrs W Fallon Mrs A Coventry

#### Appointee

Mrs P Graham Mr G Ward Mr G Tyler Mr N Matthews

### Appointee

Mrs S King Mrs J Wiles Mr G Pepper Dr J Kerr Mrs J Fuller Mr D Peck Mrs J Fuller Dr J Kerr

#### Appointee

Ms E Poole Mr R Nicholson Mrs S Sheppard

#### Appointee

Miss C Honeysett Mr P Hannan Mr F Chartres Mr G Barnes Mrs R Henn-Macrae Mrs S Woodrow

#### Appointee

Ms S Pearce Mr M Holder Mr D Parrott

# 13. PUPIL REFERRAL UNITS

	Appointee
West Kent Learning Federation Management Committee (Tunbridge Wells)	Mr S Hammond

Appointee

Mrs L Watson

Mr M Errington

# 14. PROPOSED FEDERATIONS

**Proposed Federation** Shepherdswell CE and Eythorne and Elvington Community Primary Schools Shepherdswell CE and Eythorne and Elvington Community Primary Schools

# 15. POOL OF ADDITIONAL GOVERNORS

Mrs Y Hunter Mr A Moffat

# 16. NOMINATIONS TO ACADEMIES

This page is intentionally left blank